Spread the Word Life Writing Prize

The Spread the Word Life Writing Prize, in association with Goldsmiths Writers’ Centre, was established in 2016 thanks to a generous donation from Joanna Munro. Blake Morrison is Patron of the Prize.

Free to enter, the Prize aims to find the best life writing from emerging writers from across the UK. The Prize defines life writing as ‘intended to be true’, reflects someone’s own life journey or experiences and is not fiction. The competition is open to writers who have yet to publish a full-length work or have a literary agent.

The 2017 prize was won by Jon Paul Roberts for 1955-2012.
The 2018 prize was won by Danny Brunton for New Boy.
The 2019 prize was won by Charlotte Derrick for The Lady in Black.
The 2020 prize was won by Lorelei Goulding for Birdie.

Our first ever Life Writing Prize Anthology features the top twelve submissions into the 2020 Prize. You can download it for free here: https://www.spreadtheword.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/LifeWriting2020.pdf

The Life Writing Prize 2021 is open for submissions to writers resident in the UK and is free to enter.

Before you submit, please make sure you’ve had a look through the rules, guidelines and FAQs for the Life Writing Prize 2021: https://www.spreadtheword.org.uk/enter-spread-the-words-2021-life-writing-prize/

The Rules and FAQs are also available to read in our inclusive reads documents, as an alternative to both (available in standard or large print). Disabled writers are welcome to submit video / audio files for their submission.

The deadline is 11:59pm on Monday 1 February.


Application Deadline:
1 February 2021 12:00 am

More info