News & Features

Back to list

Added: Monday 5th June, 2017

New Writing South Best New Play Award 2017

Paul Macauley wins the Best New Play Award for Bug Camp.

The New Writing South Best New Play Award is given to a playwright in recognition of an outstanding, original theatre script.

Over forty plays were put forward for the award. All the scripts were read, 15 of them were then seen in performance and from that a short list of 5 was formed.

The standard was very high this year and there were many plays that interested our panel of judges. The 5 shortlisted plays all exhibited skilful storytelling and ambitious ideas.

Paul Macauley's winning play Bug Camp impressed the judges by using playful humour within an emotional storyline to in turn surprise, amuse and move the audience.

The shortlisted plays were:

Richard Hearn - The Missing Special

Paul Macauley - Bug Camp

Helen Seymour - To Helen Back

Luke Ofield - The Writers’ Bloc

Jenna May Hobbs - ReProduction


The judges for this year's award were: Amy Zamarripa-Solis, Monika-Akila Richards, Bella Todd, Christine Harmer-Brown, Nina Caplan, Neil Noon, Lesley Wood and Jade Weighell.