New Writing South Best New Play Award

New Writing South, in partnership with Brighton Fringe, runs the Best New Play Award. This award is presented to a playwright in recognition of an outstanding, original theatre script produced at Brighton Fringe.

The winner of the New Writing South Best New Play Award receives a cheque for £250 and free registration to next year’s Fringe.

The criteria for entering in 2020 is as follows:

  • An original scripted piece of work
  • Written within the last 12 months
  • Maximum of 10 previous performances
  • Be at least 40 minutes long in performance time
  • Be staged at Brighton Fringe 2020

Note: New translations of foreign language scripts will be considered if they meet the criteria above.

Submissions are now open. Deadline for submissions: Friday 3 April 2020 at midnight

Previous Award Winners

Sam Chittenden Clean

Rosy Carrick Passionate Machine

Paul Macauley Bug Camp

Tim Cook Crushed
Richard Fredman bloominauschwitz

Gail Louw Duwayne

Silva Semerciyan Gather Ye Rosebuds


1 April 2019 - 2 June 2019

Application Deadline:
3 April 2020 12:00 am

Creative Writing Programme at New Writing South